Boarders’ Activities

All boarders are encouraged to participate in the wide range of extra-curricular activities on offer at lunchtimes and after school during the week. At weekends we provide a wide range of activities and trips for boarders, often joining with pupils from Monmouth School for Boys.

Every Saturday morning girls are encouraged to take part in swimming, rock climbing, archery, serotonin drums, sessions in the fitness suite or in house activities such as baking and crafts. Girls are able to sign up to these on a weekly basis.

On Sunday’s activities range from surfing, biking and ice skating as well as an annual trip to Alton Towers Theme Park. There also more sedate activities such as shopping in nearby Cardiff and Bristol. We work hard to ensure that there is something on the menu for everybody and always welcome new suggestions from the girls.

Boarders’ Weekend Activity Programme – Summer 2019 (PDF – 174Kb)

Date Activity Times
Sat 27th Apr Cinema, Newport 6:30pm – 11:00pm
Sun 28th Apr Super Tubing, Ebbw Vale 12:30pm – 5:00pm
Sat 4th May Bank Holiday Leave-Out
Sun 5th May Bank Holiday Leave-Out
Sat 11th May Cinema, Newport 6:30pm – 11:00pm
Sun 12th May West Midlands Safari Park 9:30am – 5:00pm
Sat 18th May Cinema, Newport 6:30pm – 11:00pm
Sun 19th May Biking, Pedalabikeaway, FoD 1:00pm – 5:00pm
Sat 25th May Half Term
Sun 2nd Jun Half Term
Sat 8th Jun Cinema, Newport 6:30pm – 11:00pm
Sun 9th Jun Canoeing & Kayaking River Wye 1:00pm – 5:00pm
Sat 15th Jun Cinema, Newport 6:30pm – 11:00pm
Sun 16th Jun No activity. Internal exam weekend
Sat 22nd Jun Cinema, Newport 6:30pm – 11:00pm
Sun 23rd Jun Fun Day @ Monmouth School for Girls 2:00pm – 4:00pm
Sat 29th Jun Cinema, Newport 6:30pm – 11:00pm
Sun 30th Jun Seaside Trip, Barry Island (6pm BBQ at Monmouth School for Girls) 10:30am – 5:30pm
6th formers' joint bowling trip